Vegan sleeping bags?

Yes, this is about the old debate in hiking circles about synthetic versus down sleeping bags, though I’m not going to rehash all of the arguments here. Obviously down is an animal product, made from the soft feathers of various bird species. As a vegan I try to avoid using animal products, and luckily in this case there are excellent alternatives. Synthetic sleeping bag insulation (such as Primaloft brand) is very light, incredibly warm, and ubiquitous. On my thru-hike I carried an REI ten degree bag that weighed just over three pounds. I’m sure I could have done better but was limited by my budget at the time. At Trail Days I switched to a Lafuma forty-five degree synthetic bag that weighed one pound.

During your hike you’ll probably encounter a lot of people using ultralight down sleeping bags. Western Mountaineering is in a lot of the gear stores along the AT and has twenty degree bags that are around two pounds. Many people (who have money…) shell out for these. But down is not the only ultralight option. Two of my hiking partners made their own ultralight synthetic hiking quilts from a kit by Ray Jardine. They put them together with no sewing experience, and seemed to be quite happy.

New developments in hiking technology have led to a lot of really great vegan alternatives to the old traditional gear. There are plenty of ultralight synthetic sleeping bags that are just as warm as down.

Protip: line your sleeping bag stuff sack with a light trash bag for an extra layer of protection to be sure it never gets wet.

What is your sleeping bag set-up? Leave it in the comments!

5 Comments

Filed under Articles

5 responses to “Vegan sleeping bags?

  1. cotton & silk are animal products as well. Do you wear them?

    • Samwise

      Cotton is a plant and therefore vegan. Though I wouldn’t recommend wearing any cotton on a backpacking trip, it doesn’t wick sweat away and takes forever to dry! Stick with synthetics.

      Silk is not vegan. I try to avoid it; none of my backpacking gear is made from silk. I don’t claim that it’s ever possible to be “100% pure” vegan, but I try to do the best I can to avoid using animal products.

  2. Hi Samwise, like you, I’ve transitioned away from using animal products as much as possible. Quilts didn’t work for me but I did find a couple of sleeping bags that work well in the Colorado high country. For summer (temps. down to 30F), I use a Montbell UL Alpine Burrow Bag #3 which is remarkably warm for it’s two pound weight. In the shoulder seasons, I’ve been using a newer TNF Cats Meow, about half a pound heavier, but warm down to 20F.

  3. Laont Cranston

    my personal setup – yes, I’m bragging, but it is insanely comfy
    Reactor sleeping bag liner – supposedly adds warmth, and definitely makes it easy to keep things clean – toss it in the washer after every hike.
    Fanatic fringe sleeping quilt – I got the full length – I can cover my face (company seems to have vanished… but vegan quilts are common)
    NeoAir Thermarest – one of my favourite pieces of gear – light comfy, it is wonderful.

    http://www.amazon.com/Sea-Summit-Reactor-Thermolite-Sleeping/dp/B001PR06W4
    http://www.backpackinglight.com/cgi-bin/backpackinglight/fanatic_fringe_ultralight_30_quilt_gg.html
    http://www.amazon.com/Therm-A-Rest-NEOAIRMATTRESS-Therm-a-Rest-NeoAir-Mattress/dp/B001QWFDD0

Leave a Reply

